pillows!

Happy Wednesday!
Last week, my mom was kind enough to come up for a visit, to help me make pillows to coordinate with our re-done living room.

Always nice when you can bribe her with a cute granddaughter, too… 🙂

(If you’ll look closely at the picture above, you’ll see she’s drawn pink marker on her face.  That’s what happens when I hand her the only thing that will make her happy on a fussy day, then turn my attention to something else for a moment. Oops!)

Thank you to those who gave me input on the fabric swatches!  I decided on the grey geometric for sofa pillows, and the aqua chevron print for the chair pillow.  I wanted to bring in aqua–and I know chevron’s EVERYWHERE (read: as soon as I use it in my home it will probably go out of style within months), but I love it anyway & had to rep it somehow!

I used old feather pillow inserts (old meaning they were from the pillows I used in our “old” living room, purchased at Homegoods) and my mom helped me give them a new attitude!  And by help me, I mean she did the LION’S SHARE of the work.  Like 99% of it.  I am still learning the art of sewing and do not trust myself!  Plus, she can work twenty times faster.

Pictured above: a little girl up to no good, pajamas unbuttoned and flapping in the wind!

The pillow covers were created using straight seams on 3 sides, then hand-stitched along the fourth side after the form was inserted.

I feel like I could manage to make more on my own now, after having watched my mother very closely!

Aren’t they awesome?  I can brag because my mom made them!  I think she did a fabulous job.  They tie in our color scheme very nicely.  Thank you GG!

Leave a comment