Christmas Treats & More Nursery

Hello all!  Only a week left until Christmas, and life has been very busy for me as I’m sure it has been for everyone else.  I am very much looking forward to my last week of teaching before Christmas break and being able to take time off with BB!  And most of all, we are so very excited to welcome our little boy or girl into the world.  We could not be happier to be parents and I just can’t wait to hold him or her in my arms. although the thought of it is very surreal and hard to wrap my head around at this point!

I had a casual crafting afternoon with my sister and two girlfriends today…I had gifts for parents volunteers that I wanted to get together.  I made two batches of cracker candy (this goes by many different names, and I am sure most of you have either tried it or made it yourself, but here is the recipe just in case you have yet to experience this delicious and super-easy treat!) :

Cracker Candy:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil. Place one layer of saltine crackers on top of foil.

Heat one stick of butter and 1 cup of sugar (you can use brown or white–I used a half cup of each) in a saucepan until melted together.

Pour heated mixture over top of saltine crackers.

Put baking sheet in oven for 5 minutes.  Crackers should come out golden and bubbly.

Pour one bag of milk chocolate or semisweet chips over top of saltines and let sit for 5 minutes.  Spread melted chips evenly over crackers using a spatula.

Top crackers with sliced almonds or pecans (I used crushed pecans sent from Fla from my Grandmother).  I’ve also seen this done with crushed peppermints for a festive holiday touch.

I placed the sheet in the freezer for a while to make sure everything solidified and hardened, and then you can break it up into irregular pieces.

I bagged the cracker candy and tied a personalized ornament onto each baggie.  I bought matte green balls at Hobby Lobby and wrote each parent’s last initial using a gold Sharpie paint pen, as well as our school’s initials and the year on the back.

For my two room mothers, I made these poinsettia vases:

I discovered the idea on Pinterest, and thought they’d make a cute Christmas centerpiece.

I used empty coffee cans and spraypainted them gold.

I wrapped each can in double-sided tape, and then placed a rubber band around each can.

I then slid the candy canes behind the rubber band, lining the around the circumference of the can.  The double sided tape kept the candy canes from sliding.  (Tip: some of the candy canes had excess plastic wrapping around both ends…I trimmed these off with scissors.)

I have to give my husband credit, I did not purchase enough candy canes at first and he had to go to 5 different stores to find more.  Everywhere seems to be completely sold out of white Christmas lights and now red and white-striped candy canes!

I tied a bow around each can with red tulle.  I wrapped the tulle around a few times to make for a more opaque band and to cover up the rubber band.

He also purchased mini poinsettias at Watson’s, which is a big garden store near us.  I took them out of their plastic containers and “planted” them in the cans.

On another note, I have installed the beautiful bumper pads my mom made, and our glider arrived!

The bumper pads are a wonderful finishing touch…all that’s missing is a little baby in there!

The glider was ordered from a great company called Posh Tots …I heard about them from my friend Alison who ordered one for her daughter’s nursery.  The Valentino glider comes in many different fabric options…we chose this nice neutral ivory with a tone-on-tone print.  I love that it looks like a real upholstered chair and could really work in any room in the future.  It’s also VERY comfortable, which is great because I plan to log many hours in this thing!

That’s all for now…I have a few more gifts to make, lots of wrapping to do, and Christmas activities with 25 first graders to accomplish before Thursday!  Have a great week : )

Leave a Reply

